CAA50 Celebration of Justice – CAA


50th Anniversary Celebration of Justice
Friday, June 7, 2019
5:00PM   Sponsor Reception
6:00PM   Reception

7:00PM   Dinner and Program
9:00PM   AACRE 5th Anniversary After-party


The Celebration of Justice is CAA’s largest annual fundraiser and brings together over 500 community leaders, activists, corporate supporters, elected officials and organizational partners for a night of celebration and renewal of our commitment to social justice.

Our fiftieth year is a very special milestone. For five decades CAA has led civil rights advocacy, provided much-needed community services, and organized multi-racial coalitions that today are more important than ever. In the current climate of xenophobia and racism, all of our communities are under attack and CAA is being called upon to bring the movement forward.

This year’s gala is special for another reason: it is also the 5th Anniversary of Asian Americans for Civil Rights and Equality (AACRE), a network of 11 organizations including CAA that is focused on long-term movement building, capacity infrastructure, and leadership support for Asian American and Pacific Islanders dedicated to social justice. We are celebrating the 5th Anniversary of AACRE with an after-party starting at 9 pm.

Guests attending the Celebration of Justice are welcome to join AACRE’s after party celebration, Party For Justice: AACRE 5th Year Anniversary Benefit or you can purchase separate tickets for the AACRE after-party.


The Westin St. Francis
335 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Google map

This venue is wheelchair accessible.

What are my transportation/parking options for getting to and from the event?
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square is accessible by public transit. The nearest BART is the Powell Street station. The nearest MUNI stop is #38. You can plan your trip using 511 SF Bay.

The Westin St Francis only offers Valet Parking. Valet parking at the St. Francis is available for $65. Otherwise, there are several nearby parking garages, and there is free street parking starting at 6 pm.

There are several “self-parking” parking facilities within 1 to 4 blocks of the hotel.

Street parking is also free after 6 pm.


Alice Barkley, Buddy Tate Choy, Lillian Sing, Ling-chi Wang, and Germaine Q Wong
For their vision in founding CAA, leadership in many of CAA’s civil rights battles, and far-reaching impact in many diverse communities.  

Asian Americans for Civil Rights and Equality (AACRE)
For their pioneering social justice movement building and work bringing forth new leaders in the Asian American and Pacific Islander community.


Richard Lui
Richard Lui has spent more than 25 years in business and communications. Currently, he is a journalist and news anchor for MSNBC and NBC News. Before that, at CNN Worldwide he became the first Asian American male to anchor a daily, national cable news show in the U.S. His reporting has focused on politics and he has covered every national election since 2004. Lui contributes as a columnist for USA Today, Politico, Huffington Post, and others.

Lui’s community work spans 30 years and six continents. He is part of the White House leaders forum, a Policy Fellow at the University of California, Riverside, UN Spokesperson, U.S. State Department Traveling Speaker, and ambassador for NGOs like Plan International (working to end gender inequality) and anti-human trafficking NGO Not For Sale. He’s received civil rights awards from national organizations including the National Education Association, AAAJ, AAJA, WWAAC, and OCA.

Jan Yanehiro
Jan Yanehiro co-hosted Evening Magazine, a nightly television program in San Francisco that ran for 15 years on KPIX TV-CBS5. Currently, she is the Founding Director of the School of Communications and Media Technologies at the Academy of Art University in San Francisco. She has hosted 6 documentaries on the US Government internment of 110,000 Japanese Americans during World War II. Yanehiro has won multiple awards including an Emmy, the Eleanor Roosevelt Humanitarian Award and the Girl Scout’s Woman of Distinction. She is Board Chair of The Representation Project and holds seats on Kristi Yamaguchi’s Always Dream Foundation and the US-Japan Council.


Early bird tickets purchased on or before April 15, 2019 are $300 each and include entry to the reception, dinner, program, and after-party. After April 15, tickets are $350 each.  

CAA uses the GiveDirect donation system because of lower service fees, which means more of your donation goes to supporting our work.

If you would like to purchase your tickets using a method other than GiveDirect, please call 415-274-6750 or contact us at No tickets will be mailed; your reservation will be held at the door.


Please consider becoming an event sponsor in this milestone year, and know that you are supporting an organization that will continue to make lasting positive change.

To become a sponsor and bring visibility to your organization while supporting CAA, learn more on our Sponsorship Page.

Thank You to Our Early Event Sponsors

Emily Leung, Ricky Ho, and Linda Ho
Lawrence Choy Lowe Memorial Fund
Anonymous Donor
Anonymous Donor

Frances and Frankie Lee
Germaine Q Wong
Stella Lee Wong and Dick K. Wong

Henry and Priscilla Der
Evelyn and Walter Haas, Jr. Fund
May and Larry Jew
Randall Lowe
Steven Owyang and Onilda Cheung
Lorraine Wong
Randall and Gale Yip

Roy Bahat
Chinatown/North Beach Campus of CCSF
Donna Chong
Eileen Dong
Katheryn Fong and Andrew MacInnis
Lisa K. Lee
Matthew H. Liang
Minami Tamaki LLP
Perkins Coie
The Office of Assemblymember Phil Ting
Yuen & Yuen

Bank of the Orient
Bernadette Chi and Raymond Sheen
Jane Chin and James Wong
Wyman Chin
Heather Fong
Paul and Maxine Fong
Sharlene and Alfred Hall
Helen Hui
Kaiser Permanente
Thomas Layton and Gyöngy Laky
Celia Lee and Clarke Holland
John Jin Lee
Robert Joseph Louie Memorial Fund
Linda Lye and Colleen Lye
The San Francisco Foundation
Jerry and Jean Shih
Gloria Tai
Julie Tang
Simon and Theo Teng
Kathy Owyang Turner and Chuck Turner
Anna Wang and L. Scott Chong
Arthur and Deborah Yee
Emerald Yeh
Connie Yong Yu and Kou Ping Yu


Katheryn Fong
Elvin Geng
Olivia Lee
Xiangyan Liu
Randy Lowe, Chair
Guillermo Rodriguez
Benson Tran
Anna Wang
Germaine Q Wong, Chair Emeritus
Randall Yip
Eddy Zheng, Vice Chair


Katheryn Fong
Jenny Lam
Randy Lowe
Russell Lowe
Steven Owyang
Benson Tran
Kathy Owyang Turner
Germaine Q Wong
Randall Yip, Chair


Gwen Chan
Brian Cheu
Jane Chin
Assemblymember David Chiu
Henry and Priscilla Der
Sandra Fewer
Ben Fong-Torres
Heather Fong
Katheryn Fong and Andrew MacInnis
Stephen Gong
Rachel Kim
Jenny Lam
Frances and Frankie Lee
Celia W. Lee and Clarke B. Holland
Emily Leung and Ricky Ho

Betty Louie
Lily Lo
Joanne Low
Larry Mock
Steven Owyang and Onilda Cheung
Honorable Julie Tang, Ret.
Assemblymember Phil Ting
Alex Tom
Kathy Owyang Turner & Chuck Turner
Ben Wang
Ted Wang
Christina Wong
Lawrence Wong
Clifford Yee
Norman Yee


Chinese for Affirmative Action is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Our tax ID number is 94-2161304. The per person value above $105 is tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.

For more information about the Celebration of Justice, please contact at (415 ) 274-6750 or


Is my registration fee or ticket transferrable?
We require any transfer requests in writing by the person whose name is on the original registration/ticket. Please email as soon as you are aware of the requested change. To guarantee your entry, the registration name should match the person who attends.

What’s the refund policy?
We will honor refunds up until May 18, 2019. We will not provide refunds after that date. To request a refund, please email