The Celebration of Justice is CAA’s largest annual fundraiser and brings together friends and supporters for a night of celebration and renewing our commitment to social justice. Over 400 guests attend this special event each year, including public officials and prominent leaders in the Asian & Pacific Islander and civil rights communities. We also honor community leaders who have furthered the cause of protecting immigrant rights, promoting language diversity, and remedying racial injustice.

48th Anniversary Celebration of Justice 
Thursday, June 8, 2017
6:00PM   Reception
7:00PM   Dinner and Program


The Event Center at St. Mary’s Cathedral
1111 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Google map

This venue is wheelchair accessible. Free parking is available on the on-site lot and on the streets after 6pm.


Arab Resource & Organizing Center
For courageous work supporting and organizing Arab community members towards self-determination, social justice, and community empowerment.

Cecillia Wang
For frontline legal leadership against anti-immigrant laws, racial profiling, and other unlawful police practices relating to immigration enforcement across the country including in Arizona and Alabama.

Lawrence Mock, S. Chris Ahn, Ronald S. Wallace
For decades of volunteer service and commitment to civil rights including pro bono work to redesign and renovate the CAA headquarters in San Francisco Chinatown


Eddy Zheng
Eddy has a lifelong commitment to serving the children, youth, and families of the San Francisco Bay Area and beyond. He is a 2015 Open Society Foundation Soros Justice Fellow and the subject of the award winning documentary “Breathin’: The Eddy Zheng Story”.

Tickets are on sale! Individual tickets are $200 each, please register using the below button. For sponsorships, please see below.

Support CAA’s community work and bring visibility to your company or organization. To become a sponsor or learn about sponsorship benefits and deadlines, please visit or contact Nattie Fong at (415)274-6750 or

Thank you to our sponsors:

Emily Lee
Lisa K. Lee
Emily Leung, Ricky Ho, and Linda Ho
Robert J. Louie Memorial Fund
Rolland and Kathy Lowe

Stella Lee Wong and Dick Wong

Henry and Priscilla Der
Frances and Frankie Lee
Lillian K. Sing
L. Ling-chi and Linda Wang
Germaine Q Wong

American Civil Liberties Union
May and Larry Jew
Kaiser Permanente
Keker, Van Nest & Peters LLP
Minami Tamaki LLP
Northern California Carpenters Regional Council
Portsmouth Plaza Parking Corporation
Recology San Francisco
San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit

Bank of the Orient
California Faculty Association
California Teachers Association
Donna Chong and Gerald Quigley
Katheryn Fong and Andrew MacInnis
Paul and Maxine Fong
Hanson Bridgett LLP
Thomas Layton and Gyöngy Laky
Celia W. Lee and Clarke B. Holland
Hanmin Liu and Jennifer Mei
Randall Lowe
Na Lei Hulu I Ka Wekiu
National Union of Healthcare Workers
Roy Nee
Northeast Community Federal Credit Union
Steven Owyang and Onilda Cheung
SEIU Local 1021
Gloria F. Tai
Kathy and Chuck Turner
Arthur and Deborah Yee
Randall and Gale Yip

Co-Chairs: Thomas Layton and Gyöngy Laky, Kathy Owyang Turner
Sabiha Basrai
Katheryn Fong
Chris Jocson
Daniel Lee
Emily Lee
Lisa Lee
Olivia Lee
Emily Leung and Ricky Ho
Darlene and Raymond Lim
Steven Owyang and Onilda Cheung
Ben Wang
Linda Wang


Chinese for Affirmative Action is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Our tax ID number is 94-2161304. The per person value above $40 is tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law. No tickets will be mailed; your reservation will be held at the door.

For more information about the Celebration of Justice, please contact Susan Hsieh at (415)274-6750 or

You can also see information from last year’s Celebration of Justice.